James Lanning
Primary lymphedema

I grew up in Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador. I graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree.

In 2016, I completed my Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) designation, and I now work as the Controller for Seafair Capital in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

I was diagnosed with primary lymphedema (praecox) at age 14 after my friends in a hockey dressing room noticed I had one leg bigger than the other. A series of tests ruled out a concern for cancer, but the end result concluded a diagnosis of lymphedema. This began a journey of navigating a health care system that seemed to know very little about the management and treatment of this condition. It also ended my dream of becoming an NHL player.

Over the years I have experienced several serious infections, which have caused my condition to worsen. I self-manage by wearing JOBST® compression garments during the day and sometimes at night. On occasion I require intensive treatment with bandaging and manual lymphatic drainage.

I lead an active lifestyle, which includes hockey, golf and softball. Balancing lymphedema with my busy life can be a challenge, but I try to lead a normal life.

I have spoken at conferences including the National Community Health Nurses Conference (June 2016), the Canadian Association of Wound Care Conference (November 2016), the Canadian Lymphedema Framework/Lymphedema Association of Quebec Conference (October 2017) and the Newfoundland & Labrador Lymphedema Association Public Forum (September 2017).

This is my story!

James

James Lanning
Atteint de lymphœdème

J’ai grandi à Gander, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et je détiens un baccalauréat en commerce.

En 2016, j’ai obtenu ma certification de comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) et je suis maintenant contrôleur pour Seafair Capital à St. John’s, Terre-Neuve.

On m’a diagnostiqué un lymphœdème primaire (précoce) quand j’avais 14 ans, après que mes amis aient remarqué que l’une de mes jambes était plus grosse que l’autre dans les vestiaires, après un match de hockey. Une série de tests a permis d’écarter le cancer, mais on a finalement établi un diagnostic de lymphœdème. Ce fut le début d’un long cheminement dans un système de santé qui semblait en savoir très peu au sujet de la gestion et du traitement de cette maladie. Cela a aussi mis fin à mon rêve de devenir un joueur de la LNH.

Au fil des années, j’ai développé plusieurs infections sévères qui ont empiré mon état. Je gère moi-même ma maladie en portant des vêtements de compression JOBST® pendant la journée, et parfois la nuit. À l’occasion, j’ai besoin d’un traitement intensif avec des bandages et un drainage lymphatique manuel.

Je mène une vie active, qui inclut la pratique du hockey, du golf et de la balle molle. Concilier le lymphœdème avec ma vie bien remplie peut s’avérer difficile, mais j’essaie de mener une vie normale.

J’ai pris la parole à diverses conférences, comme le National Community Health Nurses Conference (juin 2016), le Canadian Association of Wound Care Conference (novembre 2016), le Congrès national du lymphœdème organisé par le Partenariat canadien du lymphœdème et l’Association québécoise du lymphœdème (octobre 2017) et le Newfoundland & Labrador Lymphedema Association Public Forum (septembre 2017).

C’est mon histoire!

James