Diabetes

Edema is a risk factor for venous and diabetes-related foot ulcers among patients with diabetes, as well as being implicated in reducing healing for existing diabetes-related foot ulcers.

Peripheral edema is swelling from the collection of fluid in the feet, ankles, and legs. It can occur in one or both of your lower extremities. If you have diabetes, you need to take extra precautions when you have edema.

Edema is the result of damage to capillaries or increased pressure causing capillaries to leak fluid into surrounding tissues and result in swelling. People with diabetes often have circulation problems that can cause wounds to heal slowly or not at all. Edema makes it more difficult for wounds to heal. Therefore, controlling it is essential.

Signs and symptoms of edema

  • Stretched skin or shiny skin.
  • Swelling or puffiness.

Edema can be pitting or non-pitting, indicating different causes.

If you experience edema, let your doctor know in order to rule out serious complications. Here are some things you can do to help manage foot and leg edema:

  • Elevate the affected leg or foot throughout the day
  • Wear compression stockings (consult your physician to ensure you don’t have arterial disease)
  • Exercise regularly
  • Adhere to a low-sodium diet
  • If you have a wound, cellulitis, dermatitis, scaling, or itching makes sure these are addressed in your care plan

Call your doctor as soon as possible if swelling does not improve or worsens; if you have liver disease and experience swelling in your legs or abdomen; if your swollen extremity is red or warm; if you have a fever; if you notice decreased urine output; or if you are pregnant and have sudden moderate to severe swelling.

Compression therapy for diabetic edema and ulcer recurrence prevention

Edema Is a risk factor for Venous and Diabetic Foot Ulcers. It has been proven that the use of mild compression socks can safely reduce lower-limb edema in patients with diabetes, a new double-blind randomized controlled trial has shown. In addition, skin-perfusion pressure significantly increased in the group treated with the compression socks, meaning that microvascular circulation may have improved with mild compression.

Ask your physician if SensiFootTM Diabetic Stockings are right for you.

icon

Would you like to receive tips on leg health?

Join the JOBST® community today!

*Required fields

I agree to receive emails from BSN Medical Canada with information on leg health, new products, contest and promotions.

Sources:
https://www.verywell.com/peripheral-edema-and-diabetes-1087725
American Diabetes Association 2015 Scientific Sessions; June 6, 2015: Boston, Massachusetts. Abstract 142-OR
Bowering MD FRCP, Keith C. “Use of Layered Compression Bandages in Diabetic Patients: Experience in Patients With Lower Leg Ulceration, Peripheral Edema, and Features of the Venous and Arterial Disease.” Advances in Skin and Wound Care May/June 1998 11:129-135

Diabétiques

L’œdème est un facteur de risque pour les ulcères veineux et les ulcères des pieds chez les patients atteints de diabète, en plus d’entraver leur guérison.

L’œdème périphérique résulte de l’accumulation de fluide dans les pieds, les chevilles et les jambes. Il peut se produire dans l’un de vos membres inférieurs ou les deux. Si vous souffrez de diabète, vous devez prendre des précautions supplémentaires lorsque vous souffrez d’œdème.

L’œdème est causé par les capillaires endommagés ou l’augmentation de la pression, ce qui entraîne la fuite de fluide des capillaires vers les tissus avoisinants et de l’enflure. Les gens atteints de diabète ont souvent des problèmes circulatoires qui peuvent ralentir la guérison des plaies ou les empêcher de guérir. Comme l’œdème complique la guérison des plaies, son contrôle est essentiel.

Signes et symptômes de l’œdème

  • Peau étirée ou luisante
  • Œdème ou gonflement

L’œdème peut s’enfoncer au toucher ou non, les deux types résultant de causes différentes.

Si vous souffrez d’œdème, avisez votre médecin afin d’éliminer les complications graves. Voici ce que vous pouvez faire pour traiter l’œdème des pieds et des jambes :

  • Élevez la jambe ou le pied concernés tout au long de la journée
  • Portez des bas de compression (consultez votre médecin pour vous assurer que vous n’avez pas de coronopathie)
  • Faites de l’exercice régulièrement
  • Adoptez un régime faible en sodium
  • Si vous avez une plaie, une cellulite, une dermatose, de la peau qui s’écaille ou des démangeaisons, assurez-vous que ces symptômes sont abordés dans votre plan de soins

Appelez votre médecin dès que possible si l’œdème ne s’améliore pas ou empire; si vous souffrez d’une maladie du foie et que vos jambes ou votre abdomen enflent; si le membre enflé est rouge ou chaud; si vous avez de la fièvre; si vous notez une diminution du volume d’urine; ou si vous êtes enceinte et présentez soudainement un œdème modéré à sévère.

La thérapie de compression pour prévenir la récurrence des œdèmes et des ulcères

L’œdème est un facteur de risque pour les ulcères de pied veineux et diabétiques. Il a été prouvé que l’utilisation de bas de compression légère peut réduire l’œdème des membres inférieurs de manière sécuritaire chez les patients souffrant de diabète, selon un nouvel essai clinique randomisé à double insu. De plus, la pression d’irrigation de la peau augmente de manière significative dans le groupe traité avec les bas de compression, ce qui signifie que la circulation microvasculaire s’est améliorée à la suite d’une légère compression.

Demandez à votre médecin si les bas SensiFoot™ pour diabétiques vous conviennent.

icon

Vous désirez recevoir des trucs et conseils sur la santé des jambes?

Joignez-notre communauté JOBST® dès maintenant!

*Champs requis

J’accepte de recevoir des courriers électroniques de la part de BSN Medical Canada au sujet de la santé des jambes, de nouveaux produits, de concours et de promotions.