Chronic Venous Disease

Veins and Valves

Blood return from the legs occurs mainly through the deep veins. Within the veins, especially those of the legs, are valves. Venous valves are bicuspid (two) flap like structures made of elastic tissue. The valves function to keep blood moving in one direction.

Venous Blood Flow

The flow of blood in the venous system is complex for several reasons:

  • Low pressure within the veins
  • Flow rates that vary from high (during muscle contraction) to almost no flow during quiet standing or sitting positions
  • Gravity
  • Collapsible nature of the venous wall
  • Presence of valves
  • Large volume of blood carried in the veins

Once the blood has passed from the arteries through the capillaries, it is flowing at a slower rate because little pressure remains to move the blood along. Blood flow in the veins below the heart is helped back up to the heart by the muscle pump. The walls of the veins are thin and somewhat floppy. To compensate for this, many veins are located in the muscles. Movement of the leg squeezes the veins, which pushes the blood toward the heart. When the muscles contract, the blood within the veins is squeezed up the vein and the valves open. When the muscle is at rest, the valves close helping to prevent the backward flow of blood.

Healthy vs. Damaged Valves

Healthy legs have veins with smooth, elastic walls that are perfectly designed to adapt to the changes in pressure within a vein. Veins have valves that keep blood moving in one direction: back toward the heart. As the leg muscles are activated, the venous valves open to allow one-way flow in the direction of the heart. When the muscles relax, the valves close to stop any back-flow.

But if the walls of a vein have been damaged by varicosis or thrombosis, the vein may dilate and the valves fail to close properly. When valves fail to work properly, blood flows backward into the veins. This results in blood pooling, putting pressure on lower leg veins, which may cause even more valves to fail over time.

So when the body is upright, the blood being transported back to the heart may stagnate in the legs. The pressure in the superficial veins directly under the skin rises and the veins become swollen. Tired, aching legs are the most common early symptoms – particularly after prolonged standing. Later, fluid may collect in the feet and ankles causing them to swell. The skin above the ankles may become thin and discolored or even break to form a venous stasis ulcer.

image

Chronic Venous Disease (CVD)

Venous disease is a chronic condition, meaning the symptoms can be life-long and can progress if not treated. There are several risk factors that can increase the possibility of someone developing a vein disorder.

CVD Risk Factors

One of the most common vein diseases is Chronic Venous Disease (CVD) causing valves in the veins to weaken over time. The disease is most common in women in their 40s and men in their 70s. CVD risk factors include:

  • Family history of Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
  • Heart disease
  • History of leg trauma
  • Inactive lifestyle
  • Multiple pregnancies for women
  • Obesity
  • Old age
  • Prior cases of Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
CVD Symptoms

Minor Symptoms

  • Itchy legs
  • Leg or ankle swelling
  • Changes in skin color, especially in lower leg

Moderate Symptoms

  • Aching or throbbing in legs
  • A heavy feeling in the legs
  • Leg cramps
  • Development of further skin changes in legs
  • Varicose veins
  • Swelling / tightness in the leg or calf muscle

Severe Symptoms

  • Pain
  • Skin pigment changes (red or bronze discoloration)
  • Dry scaly, itchy skin (eczema changes)
  • Edema
  • Dilated veins
  • Fibrosis and hardening of the skin of the lower legs
  • Lower leg ulcerations
Other types of vein disease

Deep Vein Thrombosis

One of the biggest risk factors of CVD is prior Deep Venous Thrombosis (DVT). A DVT is a blood clot in the deep venous system. It most commonly occurs in the deep veins of the legs, but can occur in other deep veins such as in the arms or pelvis as well. Risk factors for DVT include:

  • Age
  • Major Surgery
  • Major Trauma
  • Hospital stays over 3 days
  • Immobility or paralysis / paresis
  • Estrogen containing medications
  • Pregnancy
  • Chronic Medical Conditions (inflammatory bowel disease, lupus, coagulopathies)
  • Active cancer
  • Obesity
  • Previous Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)
  • Family history of VTE
  • Institutionalized living (nursing home, etc.)

 

Symptoms of Pulmonary Embolism

Vein diseases can lead to deep vein thrombosis (DVT). In turn, this can lead to a pulmonary embolism (PE), which is caused when a blood clot develops and travels to the lungs. There are several symptoms of pulmonary embolism, and you should seek immediate evaluation if you experience any of these symptoms:

  • Sudden feeling of shortness of breath
  • Chest pain that gets worse when taking deep breaths
  • Lightheadedness or dizziness
  • Sudden fainting
  • Increased heart rate
  • Coughing up blood

A pulmonary embolism can be fatal; therefore getting medical attention as soon as possible increases survival rates. If you have a condition impacting your veins, managing the condition can reduce your risk for developing further complications like DVT and pulmonary embolism.

Post-Thrombotic Syndrome

DVT can lead to a condition called Post-Thrombotic Syndrome (PTS), a chronic condition that can lead to permanent disability. PTS occurs in up to 50% of patients with a history of DVT. It occurs when the blood clot organizes around the fragile venous valves in the deep veins, damaging them permanently. This increases the pressure in the veins and can lead to permanently decreased quality of life. PTS symptoms include aching, heaviness, swelling, cramps, and skin changes. For some patients the symptoms are just bothersome. For others it negatively impacts their quality of life. More severe PTS can lead to leg swelling, further skin changes, and development of venous leg ulcers.

Compression hosiery worn daily for up to two years can both prevent development of PTS and alleviate its symptoms.

Managing Vein Disease

Vein diseases can be effectively managed in a variety of ways that not only relieve symptoms, but prevent them from worsening. Managing vein disease is all about improving blood flow in the affected area.

Doctors consider several factors when deciding on a management option, including your age, symptoms, ability to tolerate different management options, and the vein disease’s expected progression. Common solutions include:

  • Compression Therapy: Compression therapy involves using compression garments, like the ones manufactured by JOBST, to improve blood flow in the damaged area. Compression garments use gradient compression, which puts pressure on the extremities to improve blood flow and help you recover faster by putting a higher level of pressure at the bottom of the limb and gradually decreasing pressure further up the limb.
  • Medication: Your doctor may prescribe medication for you to take, often in combination with compression therapy. You may also be prescribed medication to help treat leg ulcers.
  • Sclerotherapy: In some cases, the best treatment is to stop the affected veins from being able to transport blood. Veins are injected with chemicals, which causes scarring and stops blood transport through those veins.
  • Surgery: In some cases, surgery may be required to directly change the way the blood flows in the body, and blood flow is directed away from damaged veins. Surgery is also used to repair, remove or transplant damaged veins.
image

Marie-Josée Samson
JOBST® UltraSheer Aurora, cranberry

What is Gradient Compression?

JOBST® uses gradient compression in the garments we manufacture. Gradient compression has the greatest pressure at their base, and reduces pressure as the compression garment goes up the arm or leg. This helps encourage the movement of fluids, whether its blood circulation or lymph fluid circulation. The gentle pressure helps blood vessels and lymph vessels absorb fluids more easily, providing relief for tissues and reducing swelling.

Why Use Gradient Compression?

Gradient compression is one of the most effective ways to manage the swelling caused by lymphedema and venous disorders. JOBST compression garments help relieve pain and reduce swelling by preventing accumulation of swelling and helping counteract the tendency of the body to swell.

Stopping fluid buildup also helps reduce your risk of infection and helps encourage fluid flow back to your heart. Gradient compression not only helps relieve symptoms, but can also help reduce risk of further complications.

icon

Want to learn more about chronic venous insufficiency (CVI)?

Join the JOBST® community today!

*Required fields

I agree to receive emails from BSN Medical Canada with information on leg health, new products, contest and promotions.

Sources :
1. Eberhardt, R.T., Raffetto, J.D.. « Chronic venous insufficiency », Circulation, 2014, vol. 130, no 4, p. 333-346.
2. Nicolaides, A.N.. « Investigation of chronic venous insufficiency. A consensus statement », Circulation, 2014, vol. 102, no 20, p. e126-e163.
3. Kahn, S.R.. « How I treat postthrombotic syndrome », Blood, 2009, no 114, p. 4624–4631.
4. Baldwin, M.J., et collab. « Post-thrombotic syndrome: a clinical review », ,J Thromb Haemost., mai 2013, vol. 11, no 5, p. 795-805.
5. Heit, J. “The epidemiology of venous thromboembolism in the community », Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Bio, 2008, no 28, p. 370.

Insuffisance veineuse chronique

Veines et valvules

Le retour du sang se trouvant dans les jambes se fait principalement par les veines profondes. Dans ces veines, surtout celles des jambes, on trouve des valvules. Les valvules veineuses sont des structures bicuspides (à deux clapets) faites de tissu élastique. Les valvules font en sorte que le sang circule dans une seule direction.

LA CIRCULATION SANGUINE DANS LES VEINES

Le flux sanguin dans le système veineux est complexe en raison de :

  • La faible pression dans les veines;
  • La variation du débit, allant d’élevé (pendant la contraction musculaire) à très faible (lors de la position debout immobile ou assise);
  • La gravité;
  • La contractilité de la paroi veineuse;
  • La présence de valvules;
  • Le grand volume de sang circulant dans les veines.

Lorsque le sang passe des artères vers les capillaires, le flux devient moins rapide parce qu’il reste peu de pression pour propulser le sang. Le sang dans les veines situées sous le cœur est réacheminé vers le cœur grâce à l’effet de pompage des muscles. Les parois veineuses sont minces et plutôt souples. Pour compenser, plusieurs veines sont situées dans les muscles. Le mouvement des jambes presse les veines, ce qui pousse le sang vers le cœur. Lorsque les muscles se contractent, le sang dans les veines est propulsé dans les veines, puis les valvules s’ouvrent. Lorsque les muscles sont au repos, les valvules se ferment, ce qui empêche le refoulement de sang.

VALVULES EN SANTÉ ET VALVULES ENDOMMAGÉES

Des jambes en santé présentent des veines avec des parois lisses et élastiques, c’est-à-dire parfaitement conçues pour s’adapter aux changements de pression dans les veines. Les veines sont munies de valvules qui forcent le sang à circuler dans une seule direction, soit vers le cœur. Lorsque les muscles s’activent, les valvules des veines s’ouvrent pour permettre le flux unidirectionnel vers le cœur. Lorsque les muscles sont au repos, les valves se ferment pour empêcher le reflux.

Mais si les parois veineuses sont endommagées par des varicosités ou une thrombose, la veine peut se dilater, empêchant les valvules de se fermer correctement. Le cas échéant, le sang refoule dans les veines. Cela peut occasionner une accumulation de sang, augmentant ainsi la pression dans les veines des jambes, ce qui peut entraîner la défaillance d’autres valvules au fil du temps.

Donc, quand le corps est à la verticale, le sang qui est réacheminé vers le cœur peut stagner dans les jambes. La pression dans les veines superficielles directement sous la peau augmente et les veines enflent. Les jambes fatiguées et endolories font partie des premiers symptômes les plus courants – en particulier après avoir été debout longtemps. Plus tard, le fluide peut s’accumuler dans les pieds et les chevilles, les faisant enfler. La peau des chevilles peut s’amincir et se décolorer et même se rompre pour former un ulcère de stase veineuse.

image

INSUFFISANCE VEINEUSE CHRONIQUE (IVC)

L’insuffisance veineuse est une maladie chronique, ce qui signifie que les symptômes peuvent durer toute la vie et empirer si elle n’est pas traitée. Plusieurs facteurs de risque peuvent augmenter les chances de développer une insuffisance veineuse.

Facteurs de risque de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique

L’une des maladies veineuses les plus communes est l’insuffisance veineuse chronique (IVC), qui entraîne un affaiblissement des valvules dans les veines avec le temps. Cette maladie est plus répandue chez les femmes dans la quarantaine et chez les hommes de plus de 70 ans. Parmi les facteurs de risque de l’IVC, on trouve :

  • Les antécédents familiaux de thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP)
  • Les maladies cardiaques
  • Des antécédents de blessure à la jambe
  • La sédentarité
  • Les grossesses chez la femme
  • L’obésité
  • La vieillesse
  • Des cas antérieurs de thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP)
Symptômes de l’IVC

IVC mineure

  • Démangeaisons aux jambes
  • Enflure de la jambe ou de la cheville
  • Changement de couleur de la peau, surtout dans le bas de la jambe

IVC modérée

  • Douleur ou pulsations dans les jambes
  • Sensation de lourdeur dans les jambes
  • Crampes dans les jambes
  • Changement dans l’apparence de la peau des jambes
  • Varicosités
  • Enflure ou tiraillement dans la jambe ou le muscle du mollet

IVC sévère

  • Douleur
  • Changement de la pigmentation de la peau (coloration rouge ou bronze)
  • Peau sèche, squameuse, qui démange (eczéma)
  • Œdème
  • Veines dilatées
  • Fibrose et durcissement de la peau dans le bas des jambes
  • Ulcérations dans le bas des jambes
Autres types de maladies veineuses

Thrombose veineuse profonde

L’un des plus importants facteurs de risque de l’IVC est la thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP). Une TVP est un caillot sanguin qui se forme dans le système veineux profond. Il se produit principalement dans les veines profondes des jambes, mais peut également se produire dans d’autres veines profondes, comme dans les bras ou le bassin. Les principaux facteurs de risque de la TVP sont :

  • L’âge
  • Une opération importante
  • Une blessure importante
  • Les séjours à l’hôpital de plus de trois jours
  • L’immobilité, la paralysie ou la parésie
  • La médicamentation à base d’estrogènes
  • La grossesse
  • Les maladies chroniques (maladie intestinale inflammatoire, lupus, coagulopathie)
  • Un cancer avancé
  • L’obésité
  • Un cas antérieur de thrombo-embolie veineuse (TEV) › Des antécédents familiaux de TVP
  • Un séjour dans une institution de soins (maison de retraite, etc.)

 

Symptômes de l’embolie pulmonaire

Les maladies veineuses peuvent mener à une thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP). À son tour, cette affection peut causer une embolie pulmonaire (EP), qui a lieu lorsqu’un caillot sanguin se forme et se déplace vers les poumons. Il y a plusieurs symptômes associés à l’embolie pulmonaire, et vous devez consulter un médecin immédiatement si vous ressentez l’un de ces symptômes :

  • Essoufflement soudain
  • Douleur à la poitrine qui empire lorsque vous prenez de profondes inspirations
  • Faiblesse ou étourdissements
  • Évanouissement
  • Augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque
  • Présence de sang lors de la toux

Une embolie pulmonaire peut être fatale, donc il faut obtenir des soins médicaux dès que possible pour augmenter les chances de survie. Si vous souffrez d’une maladie pouvant avoir un impact sur vos veines, la prise en charge de la maladie peut réduire le risque de développer des complications, comme la thrombose veineuse profonde et l’embolie pulmonaire.

Syndrome postphlébétique

La TVP peut mener à une maladie appelée « syndrome postphlébétique » (SPP), une maladie chronique pouvant mener à une invalidité permanente. Le SPP a lieu jusqu’à chez 50 % des patients ayant des antécédents de TVP. Il se produit lorsque le caillot de sang se forme autour des fragiles valvules dans les veines profondes, les endommageant de manière permanente. Cela augmente la pression dans les veines et peut compromettre la qualité de vie de façon permanente. Les symptômes du SPP incluent la douleur, un sentiment de lourdeur, l’œdème, des crampes et des changements cutanés. Certains patients sont gênés par les symptômes, mais d’autres voient leur qualité de vie réellement compromise. Des SPP plus sévères peuvent occasionner de l’œdème aux jambes, d’autres changements cutanés et le développement d’ulcères veineux dans les jambes.

Le port de bas de compression au quotidien pendant deux ans peut prévenir le développement d’un SPP et réduire ses symptômes.

Traitement des maladies veineuses

Les maladies veineuses peuvent être traitées efficacement de différentes manières non seulement pour soulager les symptômes, mais aussi pour les empêcher d’empirer. La prise en charge des maladies veineuses consiste en somme à améliorer la circulation sanguine dans la zone touchée.

Les médecins prennent en considération plusieurs facteurs lorsqu’ils choisissent un traitement, par exemple votre âge, vos symptômes et votre capacité à supporter divers traitements, de même que la progression anticipée de la maladie. Parmi les solutions communes, on trouve :

  • La thérapie de compression : elle consiste à porter des vêtements de compression, comme ceux fabriqués par JOBST®, pour améliorer la circulation sanguine dans la zone affectée. Les vêtements de compression procurent une compression graduée en exerçant une pression sur les extrémités. Cela améliore la circulation sanguine et vous aide à récupérer plus rapidement en exerçant une pression plus élevée à l’extrémité du membre, puis de moins en moins grande le long du membre.
  • Médication : votre médecin peut vous prescrire des médicaments, souvent en combinaison avec une thérapie de compression. On peut aussi vous prescrire des médicaments pour traiter les ulcères aux jambes.
  • Sclérothérapie : dans certains cas, le meilleur traitement consiste à arrêter les veines touchées de transporter du sang. Pour ce faire, on injecte un agent chimique dans les veines, ce qui cause leur cicatrisation et arrête le transport de sang dans celles-ci.
  • Chirurgie : dans certains cas, une chirurgie peut être requise pour changer directement le trajet du sang dans le corps, et le flux sanguin est dirigé loin des veines endommagées. La chirurgie est aussi utilisée pour réparer ou retirer les veines endommagées ou effectuer une transplantation.
image

Marie-Josée Samson
JOBST® UltraSheer Aurora, canneberge

Qu’est-ce qu’une compression graduée?

Les vêtements de JOBST® sont fabriqués pour créer une compression graduée. Avec la compression graduée, la pression est supérieure à la base, puis elle décroît le long du membre. Cela favorise le mouvement des fluides, qu’il s’agisse de la circulation sanguine ou de la circulation lymphatique. La légère pression aide les vaisseaux sanguins et lymphatiques à absorber les fluides plus facilement, soulageant les tissus et réduisant l’œdème.

Pourquoi utiliser la compression graduée?

La compression graduée est l’une des manières les plus efficaces de traiter l’enflure causée par le lymphœdème et les maladies veineuses. Les vêtements de compression JOBST® aident à soulager la douleur et l’œdème en évitant l’accumulation de liquide et en contrant la tendance au corps à former de l’œdème.

Freiner l’accumulation de fluides aide aussi à réduire le risque d’infection et favorise le retour des fluides vers le cœur. La compression graduée ne soulage pas seulement les symptômes, mais peut aussi aider à réduire les risques de complications.

icon

Vous désirez en savoir davantage sur l’insuffisance veineuse chronique?

Joignez-notre communauté JOBST® dès maintenant!

*Champs requis

J’accepte de recevoir des courriers électroniques de la part de BSN Medical Canada au sujet de la santé des jambes, de nouveaux produits, de concours et de promotions.

Sources :
1. Eberhardt, R.T., Raffetto, J.D.. « Chronic venous insufficiency », Circulation, 2014, vol. 130, no 4, p. 333-346.
2. Nicolaides, A.N.. « Investigation of chronic venous insufficiency. A consensus statement », Circulation, 2014, vol. 102, no 20, p. e126-e163.
3. Kahn, S.R.. « How I treat postthrombotic syndrome », Blood, 2009, no 114, p. 4624–4631.
4. Baldwin, M.J., et collab. « Post-thrombotic syndrome: a clinical review », ,J Thromb Haemost., mai 2013, vol. 11, no 5, p. 795-805.
5. Heit, J. “The epidemiology of venous thromboembolism in the community », Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Bio, 2008, no 28, p. 370.