Physical Activity

Physical exercise is good for mind, body and spirit. Furthermore, sports, and mainly team sports, are good for learning accountability, dedication, and leadership, among many other traits. Putting it all together by playing a sport is a winning combination and this is why it is important to help our body and boost it when being active.

Compression has become popular in the sports world in the past few years. It started with some of the top triathletes wearing medical compression stockings during their events. Since then, all kinds of athletes from Olympic runners to weekend warriors have been wearing compression socks on a regular basis.

Although there is no evidence that compression stockings boost sport performance, studies have shown that wearing compression stockings during exercise helps reduce muscle soreness.

In a study that meant to examine the effect of wearing graduated compression stockings (18-22 mmHg) effect during and after exercises, 14% of athletes who wore compression stockings reported muscle soreness after 24 hours in comparison with 93% of those who didn’t wear compression.

Another study conducted by Dr. John Jakeman has suggested that compression may affect the rate of cellular membrane turnover in damaged muscle following exercise, and alter the inflammatory response to muscle damage, accelerating the repair process.

image

Fanny Girardin
JOBST® Sport, black

How do compression stockings work during sports?

Compression stockings provide graduated compression that is tightest at the ankles and gradually less constrictive towards the knees. They assist the calf muscles to perform their pumping action in the veins more efficiently. The better the veins are perfused, the more oxygen and therefore more nutrients, such as magnesium and calcium is supplied to the muscles.

icon

Would you like to receive tips on leg health for sports and exercise?

Join the JOBST® community today!

*Required fields

I agree to receive emails from BSN Medical Canada with information on leg health, new products, contest and promotions.

Sources :
M. L. (2010, December 10). Compression Gear: Hype of Helpful? Web. http://www.runnersworld.com/rt-web-exclusive/compression-gear-hype-of-helpful
W. Kemmler, S. Von Stengel, C. Kockritz, J. Mayhew, A. Wassermann, and J. Zapf. “Effect of Compression Stockings on Running Performance in Men Runners.” JSPR (2009): 101-05. Web. <http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19057400>.
Ali A., Caine M.P., Snow B.G. Graduated compression stockings: Physiological and perceptual responses during and after exercise. JOURNAL OF SPORTS SCIENCES VOL. 25 ,
ISS. 4,2007

Personnes Actives

L’exercice physique est bon pour le corps et l’esprit. Les spécialistes s’entendent pour dire que le sport, et surtout les sports d’équipe, aide à apprendre la responsabilisation, le dévouement, le leadership et plus encore. Pour toutes ces raisons, faire du sport est une combinaison gagnante.

La compression connait une popularité grandissante depuis quelques années dans le monde du sport, surtout depuis que plusieurs triathloniens de renommée ont eu recours à des bas de compression médicale durant leur performance. Depuis, toutes sortes d’athlètes, des coureurs olympiques aux sportifs du dimanche, ont porté régulièrement des bas de compression.

Bien que l’effet du port de bas de compression sur la performance sportive n’ait pas été démontré, l’impact sur la réduction de la douleur musculaire est incontestable.

Dans une étude visant à déterminer l’effet du port de bas de compression graduée (18-22 mm Hg) pendant et après l’exercice, 14% des athlètes qui portaient des bas de compression ont déclaré ressentir une douleur musculaire après 24h comparativement à 93% pour ceux qui ne portaient pas de compression.

Une autre étude menée par le Dr John Jakeman a suggéré que les vêtements de compression peuvent affecter le taux de régénération de la membrane cellulaire dans le muscle endommagé par l’exercice. La compression modifie également la réponse inflammatoire à une lésion musculaire, accélérant ainsi le processus de réparation.

image

Fanny Girardin
JOBST® Sport, noir

COMMENT FONCTIONNENT LES BAS DE COMPRESSION PENDANT L’EXERCICE?

Les bas de compression fournissent une compression graduée plus serrée au niveau des chevilles et progressivement moins constrictive vers les genoux. Ils aident les muscles du mollet à effectuer leur action de pompage plus efficacement. Plus les veines sont perfusées, plus l’oxygène et les nutriments tels que le calcium et le magnésium se rendent aux muscles.

icon

Vous désirez recevoir des trucs et conseils sur la santé des jambes lors de la pratique de sport?

Joignez-notre communauté JOBST® dès maintenant!

*Champs requis

J’accepte de recevoir des courriers électroniques de la part de BSN Medical Canada au sujet de la santé des jambes, de nouveaux produits, de concours et de promotions.

Sources :
M. L. (2010, December 10). Compression Gear: Hype of Helpful? Web. http://www.runnersworld.com/rt-web-exclusive/compression-gear-hype-of-helpful
W. Kemmler, S. Von Stengel, C. Kockritz, J. Mayhew, A. Wassermann, and J. Zapf. “Effect of Compression Stockings on Running Performance in Men Runners.” JSPR (2009): 101-05. Web. <http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19057400>.
Ali A., Caine M.P., Snow B.G. Graduated compression stockings: Physiological and perceptual responses during and after exercise. JOURNAL OF SPORTS SCIENCES VOL. 25 ,
ISS. 4,2007