Occupational Swelling

The experience of legs that swell at the end of a working day is the result of a physiologic phenomenon. It is caused by extravasation of fluid from the venules because of a steadily increased venous pressure in the dependent regions of the body.

Gravity will certainly not be on your side. Standing on your feet all day means that the blood circulation is hindered by gravity and, in certain cases, lack of movement if your job requires minimal walking. It is quite common for you to feel like your legs weigh a ton after a long day.

Don’t let problems run through your veins!

The fact that you are sitting for a prolonged period of time means that you are most likely inactive. This lack of movement also negatively impacts your veins and can lead to swollen, achy and heavy legs.

At the office, take a few minutes every hour to walk around and activate your calf muscle pump. It will help get that blood flow back on track.

If you are standing all day, try sitting and raising your legs for a few minutes to counteract the effects of gravity. You may also try wearing compression stockings. They are great for supporting blood flow in your legs.

A study concluded that calf-length compression stockings with a pressure range between 11 and 21mmHg are able to reduce or totally prevent evening edema and may therefore be recommended for people with a profession connected with long periods of sitting or standing.

icon

Would you like to receive tips on leg health?

Join the JOBST® community today!

*Required fields

I agree to receive emails from BSN Medical Canada with information on leg health, new products, contest and promotions.

Sources : Partsch H, Winiger J, Lun B. « Compression stockings reduce occupational leg swelling », Dermatol Surg., 2004,no 30, p. 737-743. www.cochrane.org/CD006345/PVD_prevention-of-poor-blood-flow-in-theveins-in-a-standing-worker-population fitness.mercola.com/sites/fitness/archive/2015/05/08/sitting-too-long.aspx www.hazards.org/standing/

Travailleurs stationnaires

L’expérience de jambes qui gonflent à la fin d’une journée de travail est le résultat d’un phénomène physiologique. Elle est causée par extravasation de fluide à partir des veinules. Ceci est causé par une pression veineuse augmentée de façon constante dans les régions dépendantes du corps.

La gravité n’est certainement pas de votre côté. Rester debout toute la journée fait en sorte que la circulation sanguine est entravée par la gravité et, dans certain cas, l’inaction, si votre travail ne requiert pas que vous marchiez. Vous avez fréquemment l’impression que vos jambes pèsent une tonne à la fin d’une longue journée.

NE LAISSEZ PAS LES PROBLÈMES COULER DANS VOS VEINES!

Le fait de rester assis pour une longue période signifie probablement que vous êtes inactif. Cette inactivité nuit également à vos veines et peut entraîner de l’œdème, de la douleur et des jambes lourdes.

Au bureau, prenez quelques minutes chaque heure pour marcher et activer le pompage des muscles de vos mollets. Cela aidera à réactiver la circulation sanguine.

Si vous êtes debout toute la journée, essayez de vous asseoir et de surélever vos jambes pendant quelques minutes pour contrer les effets de la gravité. Vous pouvez aussi porter des bas de compression. Ils sont formidables pour favoriser la circulation sanguine dans vos jambes.

Une étude a révélé que les bas de compression au genou ayant une compression comprise entre 11 et 21 mmHg peuvent réduire ou empêcher totalement l’œdème du soir et peuvent donc être recommandés pour les personnes ayant une profession nécessitant des périodes assises ou debout prolongées.

icon

Vous désirez recevoir des trucs et conseils
sur la santé des jambes?

Joignez-notre communauté JOBST® dès maintenant!

*Champs requis

J’accepte de recevoir des courriers électroniques de la part de BSN Medical Canada au sujet de la santé des jambes, de nouveaux produits, de concours et de promotions.

Sources : Partsch H, Winiger J, Lun B. « Compression stockings reduce occupational leg swelling », Dermatol Surg., 2004,no 30, p. 737-743. www.cochrane.org/CD006345/PVD_prevention-of-poor-blood-flow-in-theveins-in-a-standing-worker-population fitness.mercola.com/sites/fitness/archive/2015/05/08/sitting-too-long.aspx www.hazards.org/standing/